Jump To content Jump To Menu
We aim to be the best partner to work with, the company people aspire to work for and a company that delivers superior returns to its shareholders
Our vision is to be the leading service company in our chosen markets.

Serco's vision

is to be the world's greatest service company

Director Profiles

The Board comprises the non-executive chairman, three executive directors and six further non-executive directors.

Sir Roy Gardner (71)

Chairman (2) (3) (4) (5)

Sir Roy Gardner is Chairman of Serco Group plc, Chair of the Nomination Committee, the Senior Independent Director at William Hill plc and Chairman of Mainstream Renewable Power Ltd.  He is also a Senior Advisor to Credit Suisse.

Previously, Sir Roy was a Non-Executive Director of Willis Group Holdings Limited, the Chairman of Compass Group PLC, Chief Executive of Centrica plc, Managing Director of GEC-Marconi Limited and a Director of GEC plc.

He has also been the Non-Executive Chairman of Manchester United plc, Plymouth Argyle Football Club and Connaught plc and a Non-Executive Director of Laporte plc.

Sir Roy is the Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Energy Futures Lab at Imperial College London and is the former Chairman of the Apprenticeship Ambassadors Network.

Sir Roy is a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants, the Royal Aeronautical Society, the Royal Society of Arts, the City & Guilds Institute and the Energy Institute.

Rupert Soames (55)

Rupert Soames (57)

Group Chief Executive (3) (4)

Rupert joined Serco as Group Chief Executive on 1 May 2014, coming from Aggreko plc, the FTSE-100 temporary power business, where he served 11 years as Chief Executive. During his tenure at Aggreko, the market capitalisation of the business increased from £450 million to over £5 billion.

Prior to Aggreko, he was with the software company Misys plc for five years, latterly as Chief Executive of its Banking and Securities Division. He spent the first 16 years of his career at GEC plc; in the last four years of his service at GEC he was responsible for the UK, African and Asian operations of Avery-Berkel.  He studied Politics, Philosophy & Economics at Oxford University and was President of the Oxford Union.

Ed Casey (56)

Ed Casey (58)

Group Chief Operating Officer (5)

Ed has been with the company since 2005. He was appointed Group Chief Operating Officer in May 2014 after initially being appointed to the Board in October 2013 as Acting Group Chief Executive Officer. Previously, Ed was Chief Executive Officer of Serco's Americas Division. He is also a member of the Executive Committee. Under Ed's leadership, the Americas business tripled in size and successfully integrated two acquisitions: RCI in 2006 and SI International in 2008.

Prior to Serco, Ed worked for nine years in the energy business, including President and Chief Executive Officer of NP Energy Inc., an energy marketing business he founded and later sold; President and Chief Operating Officer of Tenneco Energy until it was sold for $4bn; and as Group President and as Chief Financial Officer for LG&E Energy Corp. Previously, Ed worked over ten years in investment banking and private equity, including with The Blackstone Group and Fremont Group LLC.

Ed is a Director of Talen Energy Corporation.

Angus Cockburn (51)

Angus Cockburn (53)

Chief Financial Officer

Angus joined Serco on 27 October 2014 as Chief Financial Officer.  Angus joined Serco from Aggreko plc, the FTSE-100 temporary power business, where he served 14 years as Chief Financial Officer and latterly, Interim Chief Executive.  Angus brings corporate finance and accounting experience, gained across a variety of sectors whilst working for highly competitive global companies. During his tenure at Aggreko he drove through a programme of continuous improvement within the finance function.

Prior to Aggreko, Angus spent three years as Managing Director of Pringle of Scotland, a division of Dawson International Plc; five years at PepsiCo Inc in a number of senior finance positions, including Regional Finance Director for Central Europe; and several years at KPMG working in the UK and USA. Angus is also an experienced Non-executive Director, currently serving on the Board of GKN Plc.

Mike Clasper (61)

Mike Clasper (63)

Non-Executive Director (1) (3) (4) (5)

Mike joined Serco as a non-executive director in March 2014, is the Chair of the Corporate Responsibility Committee and a Senior Independent Director.

Mike was previously the Group Chief Executive of BAA plc from 2003 to 2006 and Chairman of Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs from 2008 to 2012.  Mike was previously the Senior Independent Director at ITV PLC from which he stepped down on 31 December 2013 after 8 years on the ITV Board.

Mike is currently Chairman of Coats Group plc and Which? Limited and President of the Chartered Management Institute (CMI).

Ralph D Crosby, Jr (67)

Ralph D Crosby, Jr (69)

Non-Executive Director

Ralph joined Serco as a Non-Executive Director in June 2011.

Ralph was chairman of EADS North America until his retirement from that position at the end of December 2011. He joined EADS in 2002 as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of EADS North America and also served as a member of the EADS global Executive Committee until 2010. Previously, Ralph held numerous positions with Northrop Grumman Corporation, concluding over 20 years of service as President of their Integrated Systems Sector. Prior to his industry career, Ralph served as an Officer in the US Army. Ralph has an MA in Public Administration from Harvard, an MA in International Relations from the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Switzerland, and a BSc from the United States Military Academy at West Point, NY.

Ralph is a non-executive director of American Electric Power Co Inc. and Airbus Group, S.E.

Rachel Lomax (69)

Rachel Lomax (71)

Non-Executive Director (1) (4)

Rachel joined Serco as a non-executive director in March 2014 and is the Chair of the Risk Committee.

Rachel was Deputy Governor of the Bank of England from 2003 to 2008 and has been Permanent Secretary at both the Department for Transport and the Department for Work and Pensions.

Rachel is currently a non-executive director of HSBC Holdings plc where she is Senior Independent Director and also Chair of the Conduct & Values Committee.  Rachel is also a non-executive director at Heathrow Airport Holdings Limited.

Angie Risley (56)

Angie Risley (58)

Non-Executive Director (2) (3) (5)

Angie joined Serco as a Non-Executive Director in April 2011 and is Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

She is currently Group Human Resources Director of J Sainsbury plc, and a member of the Sainsbury's Operating Board.

Previously, Angie was Group HR Director at Lloyds Banking Group and prior to that she was executive director of Whitbread PLC until May 2007, having joined the Whitbread Group in 1989. She has also been a member of the Low Pay Commission, and a non-executive director of Biffa plc and Arriva plc.

John Rishton (58)

Non-Executive Director (1) (2)

John joined Serco as a Non-Executive Director in September 2016 and will become Chair of the Audit Committee in November 2016.

John was Chief Executive of Rolls Royce Group plc between 2011 and 2015, having previously been Chief Executive and President of the Dutch international retailer, Royal Ahold NV and, prior to that, its Chief Financial Officer. He was formerly Chief Financial Officer of British Airways plc.

John is currently Chairman of the Audit Committee and a Non-Executive Director at Unilever Group and a Non-Executive Director at Informa plc.


Committee Member Information

(1) Member of the Audit Committee
(2) Member of the Remuneration Committee
(3) Member of the Nomination Committee
(4) Member of the Group Risk Committee
(5) Member of Corporate Responsibility Committee

Last Updated: 01 Nov 2016